Rebecca A Review by Traveling T

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier had been recommended to me before by MVB Club. I kept telling myself to read the book, but until it was chosen for my book
club- I had not found time to read it. I began looking for a copy- and managed to find one at my library (the copy wa so old, the pages so yellowed- this book had been passed around!) But, I took the book home and began to read it. The first line:” Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.” That line had me anticipating something, something
that would grip me and make me stay interested.

Unfortunately, that line was just a tease. As I read, I began to feel this tiresome feeling of the main character- the character that we never learn a name of. The character was so naive, so insecure, how the constant thoughts of how poor and pitiful she is compared to Rebecca- it was just too much for me. However, I kept going because it was recommended to me and I wanted to see what would happen. Then, about half-way though the book gripped me, made me give it all my attention. When the housekeeper, Mrs. Danvers, began revealing things about Rebecca. When the true nature of Rebecca’s marriage to Maxim was revealed. And especially, when a twist came about what had really happened to Rebecca- I couldn’t put it down. I HAD to know what would happen next.

Then the ending. An ending that fit so perfectly in the overall picture of Rebecca.

Many people rave about this book- give it 5 stars. I would not; but that is simply because the book did not capture my attention to almost halfway through. I am glad I read it, though, and I do recommend others reading. My book club discussed it the other week, and an interesting comment was made. Most of the ladies in the club had read the book in their late teens to early 20’s. And all commented on how they thought the relationship between Maxim and his 2nd wife was so romantic; but stated that in this re-read of Rebecca- they did not find the relationship as romantic as they once thought.

We like to thank our good friend Tamara for sharing her review for Rebecca with us. Please make sure to visit Tamara’s wonderful blog at travelingwitht.wordpress.com

One thought on “Rebecca A Review by Traveling T

  1. This is one of my favorite books, and I do give it 5 stars, but I understand what you mean about not being interested until halfway through. I think if I hadn’t seen the movie first it would have been the same for me. I felt that way about du Maurier’s book Frenchman’s Creek.

    Like

Leave a Reply

