Rebecca My Review

Over the Christmas Break in between Turkey and Family time I read Rebecca by Daphne Du Marnier. This was my first time reading anything from this author. My expectations were borderline. I can be a picky reader sometimes. However the synopsis on the back cover peaked my interest.

The story begins with the words “Last Night I Dreamt I Went To Manderley Again.” Spoken by the narrator/second wife of Maxim De Winter. Interesting tidbit Ms. Du Marnier never gave her a first name so she is only known as Mrs. De Winter through out the book. After a brief courtship Maxim marries the Mrs De Winter. Now the real mystery begins as Mrs De Winter learns more about her new husband and of the previous his relationship with his first wife Rebecca.

As Max and Mrs De Winter return to his estate Manderlay on the Cornish coast!, we meet the mysterious servant Mrs Danvers who is still fiercely loyal to Rebecca. Throughout the book Mrs. De Winter unravels the mystery that is Rebecca and continual hold that she possess over Maxim De Winter and Manderlay.

Daphne Du Marnier does a wonderful job of making you feel as though you are experiencing everything first hand. I am highly recommending this book for anyone who loves suspense stories with lots of plot twists and turns.

Remember Reading is Sexy!!!

DP~MVBCLUB

One thought on “Rebecca My Review

  1. You should read Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne du Maurier. It’s not quiet as intense as Rebecca, but halfway through I couldn’t put the book down. Rebecca is my 2nd favorite book ever, followed only by Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

